WAPA’s 64th Annual Conference and Business Meeting – Agenda

Registration | Hotel | Working Agenda

Registration is open

WAPA’s Online Registration Form is your one-stop shop for the 2023 WAPA conference. You can also register at the door.

  • Register to attend the event. You can sign up multiple attendees from your organization.
  • Sign up as an exhibitor. Exhibitors receive up to two free attendees.
  • Sponsor the conference. We’re offering full sponsorships as well as a limited number of single-event sponsorship opportunities.

We are happy to accept online credit card payments when you register. (You are also welcome to request an invoice for payment as in past years).

[button link=”https://www.wispave.org/2023-conference-registration/” bg_color=”#3e7833″ window=”yes”]Register Now[/button]


Reserve your hotel room

Kalahari Resort 
1305 Kalahari Drive
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965

Room block for all attendees except state/federal employees (see below)

Room block for state/federal employees

[toggle title_open=”Document requirements” title_closed=”Click to learn what documents are required for the govt rate” hide=”yes” border=”yes” style=”default” excerpt_length=”0″ read_more_text=”Read More” read_less_text=”Read Less” include_excerpt_html=”no”]Per Kalahari Resorts policy, completed Letters of Authorization forms, Tax Exemption forms, and Purchase Orders may not be submitted at the hotel check-in. These forms should be submitted no later than 7 days in advance to dellscallcenterfax@kalahariresorts.com or faxed to 608-254-6116. The resort highly suggests that government employees submit these forms at least two weeks before hotel check-in. Failure to follow this procedure may result in full room and tax charges to the attendees on their personal cards.

Read the full policy.  [/toggle]


Working Agenda

(Subject to change)

This year’s meeting marks WAPA’s 75th anniversary! In addition to celebrating this key milestone with raffles, prizes, merchandise and a special keynote speaker, our planned general session lineup for 2023 features decision-makers, practitioners and experts who will discuss technology, advancements, research and discovery at the state and national levels. Also look for exhibitors eager to share the latest industry innovations.

In addition, we will again offer our popular technical sessions, including certificates for professional development hours.

Tuesday, November 28, 2023
Registration from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
General Sessions – All Attendees
9:00-9:25 Welcome and Opening Comments
9:25-9:50 WisDOT Update
Craig Thompson, Wisconsin Department of Transportation Secretary
9:50-10:40 NAPA Update
Richard Willis, National Asphalt Pavement Association VP Engineering, Research and Technology
10:40-11:00 Break
11:00-12:00 Keynote Speaker
Aaron Witt, “Chief Dirt Nerd” and CEO of BuildWitt
12:00-1:00 Awards and Scholarship Luncheon
Concurrent Breakout Sessions
1:30-2:30 Session 1:

  • Asphalt Binder Modification
  • BTS Update
  • Milling Best Practices
  • EPDs 2.0
2:30-2:45 Break
2:45-3:45 Session 2:

  • Ethics
  • AASHTOWare Rollout
  • Milling Best Practices (second offering)
  • HMA Comparisons of the Midwest
3:45-4:00 Break
4:00-5:00 Session 3:

  • Asphalt Binder Modification (second offering)
  • BTS Update (second offering)
  • AASHTOWare Rollout (second offering)
Evening Activities
5:00-6:00 Reception
6:00-7:00 Dinner
7:00 Hospitality Suite


Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Registration from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m.
General Sessions – All Attendees
7:30-8:30 Breakfast
8:30-8:40 Opening Remarks
Carl Johnson, WAPA President, Stark Pavement Corporation Vice President
8:40-9:15 NRRA Update
Ben Worel, MnROAD Operations Engineer and National Road Research Executive Director
9:15-9:45 Asphalt Basics – 75 Years of Evolution
Mike Anderson, Asphalt Institute Director of Research and Laboratory Services
9:45-10:00 Break
10:00-10:45 WisDOT E-Ticketing Program
James Bender, Innovation & Technology Section Manager DTSD
Erik Lyngdal, BTS Chief Materials and Pavement Engineer
10:45-11:30 WisDOT use of OnStation
James Bender, Innovation & Technology Section Manager DTSD
Erik Lyngdal, BTS Chief Materials and Pavement Engineer
11:30-12:00 Wrap-Up and Adjournment
Jacob Mrugacz, Incoming WAPA President, Rock Road Companies President